TITLE INFORMATION

If an Idaho resident purchases a vehicle from an Idaho dealer, that dealer will prepare an application for title for the owner and file it with the Idaho Transportation Department (ITD) or a county assessor motor vehicle office within 30 days of delivery.

If the vehicle was purchased from an out-of-state dealer or from a private party, and a financial institution is recording a lien, they may file the application for title. Otherwise the buyer must file the appropriate documents with a county assessor’s motor vehicle office within 30 days of transfer to avoid a $20.00 late-filing penalty. 

For information regarding the document requirements, fees,  lost title paperwork, or any other Title issues, visit the Idaho Transportation Department's Title information page.