TITLE 2

PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION

Subject

Chapter

General Provisions	1
Member Qualifications and Officer Duties	2
Joint Planning Commission	3

Chapter 1

General Provisions

SECTIONS:

- 2-1-1: Authority
- 2-1-2: Scope
- 2-1-3: Definitions
- 2-1-1: **AUTHORITY:** This Title is adopted in accordance with and authorized by Idaho Code Section 67-6504, and subsequent amendments. If any of the provisions of this Section conflict with Idaho Code Title 67, Chapter 65, Idaho Code Title 67, Chapter 65 controls.
- 2-1-2: **SCOPE:** These rules of procedure shall govern the meetings and transaction of business of the Teton County Planning and Zoning Commission.

2-1-3: **GENERAL DEFINITIONS:**

CHAIRPERSON: The member of the Commission chosen to act as the presiding officer by the members of the Commission.

COMMISSION: The Teton County Planning and Zoning Commission and/or the Board of Adjustment.

JOINT PLANNING COMMISSION: A Planning Commission convened to hear applications within the City of Driggs Area of Impact that consists of two (2) members of the County Planning and Zoning Commission and three (3) members of the Driggs Planning and Zoning Commission.

QUORUM: A simple majority of the Commission.

VICE-CHAIRPERSON: A member of the Commission chosen to act as chairperson, in the absence of the chairperson, by the members of the Commission.

Chapter 2

MEMBER QUALIFICATIONS AND OFFICER DUTIES

SECTIONS:

- 2-2-1: Member Qualifications
- 2-2-2: Officers
- 2-2-3: Officer Duties
- 2-2-4: Election of Officers
- 2-2-5: Term of Office
- 2-2-6: Attendance
- 2-2-1: **MEMBER QUALIFICATIONS:** Member qualifications are as described in Idaho Code Title 67, Chapter 65.
- 2-2-2: **OFFICERS:** The officers of the Commission shall consist of the Chairperson and the Vice Chairperson.
- 2-2-3: **OFFICER DUTIES:** The Chairperson of the Commission shall preside over all meetings and hearings of the Planning and Zoning Commission, sign documents of the Commission, and shall have the duties normally conferred by parliamentary usage on such officers. The Vice Chairperson will assume the duties of the Chairperson in his/her absence.
- 2-2-4: **ELECTION OF OFFICERS:** The officers shall be elected by a majority vote of the members of the Commission. Officers may be elected at the first meeting in October of each year, at the next regular meeting following an un-renewed expiration of the officer's term on the Commission, or if an officer resigns at any time during his/her term of office, a new officer shall be elected at the next regular meeting. (Amd. 01-23-06)
- 2-2-5: **TERM OF OFFICE:** The Commission consists of not less than three (3) nor more than eleven (11) voting members, each appointed for a term of three (3) years, with each new term beginning at the first meeting in October. If a member resigns or is otherwise replaced before the completion of his or her term, the new appointee shall serve only the remaining time left in their predecessor's term, but they may be re-appointed for subsequent terms of three (3) years in accordance with Idaho law. If an additional member position is added before the start of the Commission's regular term, the term of the new position shall commence in the month appointed and the time between their appointment and the first meeting in October shall count as their first year (any additional years remaining in the new position's term shall be calculated thereafter from the first meeting in October following their appointment). No person shall serve more than

two (2) full consecutive terms without specific concurrence of the Board of County Commissioners adopted by motion and recorded in the minutes.

2-2-6: **ATTENDANCE:** Members are expected to attend all meetings, hearings and work sessions of the Commission. If a member has four (4) absences in one year, the Board may replace that member. (Amd. 01-23-06). If a member cannot attend a meeting, hearing or work session, he or she shall notify the Chairperson in advance of the meeting. In the event that a member of the Commission does not attend and did not give notification of their inability to be present at a meeting wherein a quorum is absent the Commission may ask for resignation of the offending member or the Board may replace that member.

Chapter 3

JOINT PLANNING COMMISSION

SECTIONS:

- 2-3-1: Selection
- 2-3-2: Purpose
- 2-3-3: Procedures
- 2-3-1: **SELECTION:** The Chairperson of each of the planning and zoning commissions for the City of Driggs and Teton County shall appoint members to the joint planning commission to hear preliminary subdivision applications concerning land within the City of Driggs Impact Area. The Joint Planning Commission shall consist of two (2) members from the Teton County Planning & Zoning Commission and three (3) members from the City of Driggs Planning & Zoning Commission. Consideration should be given to appointing a county representative living within the City of Driggs or the City of Driggs Area of Impact.
- 2-3-2: **PURPOSE:** The purpose of the Joint Planning Commission shall be to hear preliminary hearings for subdivision applications concerning land within the Driggs Area of Impact. Special meetings may be convened by request of the City of Driggs, Teton County or an applicant and shall follow all applicable noticing and procedural requirements.
- 2-3-3: **PROCEDURES:** All public hearings of the Joint Planning Commission shall be noticed pursuant to Idaho State Statute 67-6509 or subsequent amendments.